Rehabilitation Centre of Communication Impaired

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have participated in this service called RCCI which stands for Rehabilitation Center For The Communication Impaired since I joined the school in late 2016. The reason behind why I stayed with this service and hope to continue in this service for the next two years, for the reason that I strongly am connected with helping individuals who lack the ability to communicate. I feel its important to “enrich the quality of life of the communication impaired in Sri Lanka.” (rccisl.org)

I strongly support this statement because I feel this service with connection to OSC will provide the impaired individuals with the access to education and the development needed to help them overcome their disabilities. I also believe that as a service we are capable to help improve awareness in rural areas of Sri Lanka in terms of communication disorders.

As my CAS program is coming to an end, it is time for my role as a leader to be handed over to someone else. In reflection, I think this service group has grown as an organization as the bonds we have made with the RCCI institution became very strong. The activities we carried out included playing team work games in the gym, reading to watching in the library and creativity classes in the art room. The collaborative nature of working alongside such big-hearted individuals, the task was not simple as it required patience and a lot of passion to work effectively in this service group. A service that demanded a lot from the members but was ultimately for a good cause.

I have left a mark in this service group I hope, especially with my establishment of the new RCCI website that I created for my CAS project. As I inspired to increase the awareness of communication impaired in Sri Lanka, I hope I met this goal.

In terms of the learning outcome, this CAS experience has taught me the importance to plan and initiate activities to allow a successful session with the RCCI group. Working jointly with other members especially with a small group, the effort to collaborate is essential as it required preparation to book venue, get equipment. etc. This experience has demonstrated my awareness on the global significance of the issue RCCI is working on, thus helped me recognize the ethics of choices and action

I would like to thank our supervisor who has been so active in our communication with the group every week, Ms. Nyriz Illeperumaarachchi. 

Join RCCI, they need you! For a better future!

 

Academic and Sport

Leave a comment