“In America, anyone can be president. Thats the problem”- George Carlin

Transitioning to my DP2 year, a senior, a student undergoing his last year of high school. It is time to set myself new goals for the new year. A vital component of the IB program is the students experience of CAS (Creativity, Action and Service). Here is a recap of the qualities that fall under the CAS experience.

i) Identify own strengths and develop areas for growth.

ii) Demonstrate that challenges have been undertaken, developing new skills in the process.

iii) Demonstrate how to initiate and plan a CAS experience.

iv) Show commitment to and perseverance in CAS experiences.

v) Demonstrate the skills and recognise the benefits of working collaboratively.

vi) Demonstrate engagement with issues of global significance.

vii) Recognize and consider the ethics of choices and actions.


 

Creativity:

With reflection of my efforts in creativity from last year I hope to change that and focus more in this area. I plan to participate more profoundly on the after school activity I established with Mr. Lockwood called Geospatial mapping. This will be challenging as I will be developing new skills thus I hope to be a leading member which upholds qualities of being able to plan and initiate activities during the course. As I show major interest in visual arts I hope to help design the sports kits for Volleyball, Football and Track. Thus, if I am not allowed to travel for SAISA volleyball I hope to help out with the crew member for SASIA Volleyball girls as Overseas School Colombo will be hosting this event.

Action:

Sports being a fundamental factor of my CAS experience as I show such interest and passion as well as it being demonstrated as an area of strength. I plan to pursue in SAISA Volleyball and Track and Field for this year. I have shown such determination during training sessions last year as I part took in all three SAISA sports, I hope to continue the same determination and passion in sports. I would also hope to achieve my personal goals in regards to the sport as I would love to get a sports scholarship or pursue in sports in university level. I have been in the SAISA track and Volleyball team for two years now and hope to show commitment and perseverance to the team. Not only that as lots of athletes left last year, the Volleyball team has to adapt to new players joining which will be a challenge that will be easily top. As an individual I scorn on a vital misconception people have on sports, that its just a game or played for fun, however with this showing relevance in high school level, sports like volleyball can be very beneficial as it helps ones ability to collaborate which will benefit other aspects of that persons life.

Service:

This year for service I will become service leader for RCCI (Rehabilitation Centre of Communication Impaired). I hope to initiate and plan activities for each of our sessions with the kids. I plan to make the activities we partake with the kids different from last years as I want them to experience something new every session and not make it feel like a routine. My main goal is to be able to make everyone of the kid that come, to leave with a big smile on their face. I also hope to organize a fund raiser or an event that will enable our service group to help show awareness of this organization. In addition, by partaking in activities with the kids we try to recognize the values and wishes of the kids and try help them reach them with respect to their dignity and well-being. I hope for the best this year!

 

IMG_4564IMG_0629IMG_1303

Academic and Sport

Leave a comment